Settling In

I've been at University for about two terms now, and I think it's about time to do another one of these posts. I hope you're all having a good start to the year!

It's been an interesting experience so far. Much of what I said in the last post still rings true. I still like living here, and I enjoy the much higher degree of independence I now have. I do still feel very out of place but it doesn't really matter given how friendly everyone is. My classes are interesting and my professors have been really supportive of my work. The libraries are excellent here as well, and it makes getting research done much less painful. I'm very glad I get to have a lifetime library membership after I graduate.

The biggest shock to me is that I've joined a team sport. I did a trial rowing session and I kept getting roped into practice after that. Granted, I don't do anything athletic (just steer the boat and shout at people) but it's surprisingly enjoyable when the weather isn't miserable. It might also be the only time my height has been a benefit.

My house is suspiciously quiet for saying there are 7 other people in it, but besides the big pile of unwashed dishes, I really couldn't ask for better flatmates. This was one of my biggest worries, as I'd heard horror stories before. I wonder if it's a graduate thing. So far I've been encountered in my bathrobe four times.

Looking ahead, I wasn't accepted on the PhD and it's looking more and more likely that I'll be a NEET again come June unless something else comes up. I had a good run, and I should probably make the most of the amenities I have here while I still can. I'm more or less in a similar situation to how I was the last time I graduated. Maybe I'll join my city's rowing club once I get back.

I should also think about redoing bits of this website.